Posted by: thebuffyrewatch | October 15, 2012

Cordia’s Review: S5, E04 – Out of My Mind

Out of My Mind
Season 5, Episode 4
Original airing: 10/17/2000

My Rating: 64

The Good: Spike’s storyline completely dominated this episode and made it the fun jaunt I remember. He’s finally acting again, instead of reacting, and it led to some great scenes with Harmony, the doctor, and Buffy. I love that Spike jumps at the chance to get his chip removed, then plans to take down the doctor after promising he’d be ok. This felt like Season Two Spike, ready and willing to do whatever he wants. The trick played by the doctor keeps Spike’s chip in play, but gave us a fun Spike/Buffy fight, which we haven’t seen in a while.

I really enjoyed Harmony. She’s always a fun character and her interactions with Spike are often the icing on the cake. I giggled every time she accidentally shot off the crossbow bolt.

The Meh: Unfortunately, the crux of the episode is Riley and he once again doesn’t quite measure up. However, this week, I put him under The Meh.

This is an important story. What has been happening to Riley since the government stopped feeding him drugs? We saw some really serious withdrawal effects in Goodbye, Iowa (S4E14), so it only makes sense he’d be having some problems now. But the episode doesn’t hold a lot of drama because Marc Blucas just can’t make it happen.

I understand his concerns about putting himself back in government hands, but he is too recalcitrant with Buffy. He says over and over how much he loves her, but his macho side continues to rule his thinking. The main problem, however, is the lack of chemistry. Buffy is on the verge of tears and telling Riley he’s going to die and Riley is basically shrugging and saying, “So what?” Then he shrugs again and says “Ok. Let’s go to the hospital.” And both moments feel the same. It’s sad to see the difference in the scenes between Marc and Sarah versus James and Sarah (see Favorite Moment).

Favorite Moment: How could my favorite moment not be Spike’s dream of kissing Buffy? Sarah Michelle Gellar and James Marsters have the most ridiculous on screen chemistry. I bought this hook, line, and sinker. I love Buffy’s confused pull away and mouth grab. Her expressive eyes show all of the feelings I would expect from her, even though it’s just a dream. Plus…. shirtless James Marsters. Win.

The Bottom Line: This episode wasn’t bad. I enjoyed a lot of it. But the supposedly “important” stuff about Riley just didn’t hook me like it should have.

Responses

  1. “Plus…shirtless James Marsters. Win.” Ha!

    • I call ’em like I see ’em.


Leave a Reply

Categories

