Posted by: thebuffyrewatch | February 25, 2013

Cordia’s Review: S5, E21 – The Weight of the World

The Weight of the World
Season 5, Episode 21
Original airing: 5/15/2001

My Rating: 55

The Good: I enjoyed the dream sequence, but I thought it was a little strong. The idea of Buffy’s guilt was good though. And having Willow draw her out was nice. Willow has literally been there for Buffy since day one, so it definitely worked.

I liked that there was a moment where Buffy revealed her humanity. Giving up for even a moment is a very human thing to do, but something the Slayer would have trouble reconciling within herself. It also leads to my favorite moment.

I found myself really enjoying Michelle Trachtenberg in this episode too. She plays Dawn very well without going over the top. She’s scared but defiant, which feels right for the younger sister of the Slayer who’s been in danger her whole life and always been saved.

The Meh: The majority of this episode falls under The Meh for me. I didn’t think the Glory/Ben stuff wasn’t horrific, but I didn’t think it was as good as it could have been either. I’m disappointed in the deal they struck because it doesn’t make a lot of sense for Ben. Glory doesn’t make a very compelling case, in my opinion. Plus, the actor playing Ben doesn’t do much to show his emotions aside from selfishness.

I enjoyed bits of the Doc scene, but it didn’t make sense how easy it was for Xander to overpower him. After all, Doc had literally just tossed him across the room with his tongue. And then he can’t win a little wrestling match? Just no. But I think this was also a reasonable way for the Scoobies to get their hands on information about Glory. If Doc is working for or worshipping her, it makes total sense to me that he would have his information about her handy at that time.

Favorite Moment: I really liked the moment when Buffy woke from her little coma and burst into tears in Willow’s arms. I really, really liked that it was short and unexpected and harsh and then Buffy was back to leather-clad, ready-to-kick-butt Buffy. It was a good moment.

The Bottom Line: Overall, this episode fell flat for me. It could have been really interesting, but it’s mostly just a stall until the next episode and the end of the season. And, unfortunately, it feels that way.

Leave a Reply

Categories

