Posted by: thebuffyrewatch | May 7, 2013

Podcast #109: All the Way

Here’s the podcast for Season 6, Episode 6 – All the Way

Dawn and Justin

Dawn and Justin

Download: All the Way

RSS Feed: The Buffy Rewatch

The next podcast will appear on Monday 13th May 2013 for episode seven of Season Six: “Once More With Feeling.” That’s the one where…well you’d never believe me.

Comment on this post to get your views on the podcast.

You can get your voice on the podcast by leaving a message on our voicemail 206-338-7832 (It’s a US number, so add 001 if you are elsewhere).

You can email an audio clip to thetvcritic@gmail.com

Or you can tweet us by following the links to our twitter on the right of the page.

Responses

  1. Okay guys I’m probably gonna flood this with some videos of behind the scenes on OMWF. I know not all of you own the DVDs so I definitely thought I’d share.

      • The cast looks like they’re having so much fun. Thank you so much for posting these.

  2. We’ve obviously seen Anthony Stewart Head sing on the show, but he had some previous Musical Theater background.doing shows like Godspell and The Rockey Horror Picture show. I thought this would be fun to share. Giles in drag 😛

    • If you didnt get enough James Marsters singing, well guess what you are in luck. He has a couple of CDs he released. But I really like this song he did “Moonshot”

    • wow – he looks old in this one..here, both Amber Benson and Anthony are singing in the Rocky Horror Picure Show (and Anthony wears tights) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zo5LAqjEU_w (quality is not so good)

      • Sorry, I meant Anthony Stewart Head looks old in the video William posted above.

      • Yeah I agree I flipped a coin and went with better sound quality. I don’t like finding pics of this cast older it makes me feel old myself.

  3. Aside from being an awesome episode that digs into the character’s psychologies, it also has clever and entertaining music. There is a track on this episode that everyone will like. All the actors have good voices (esp. Anthony Stewart Head), and Joss Whedon writes magnificent lyrics for them to sing to. Unfortunately, my dvd has a scratch..so, I can’t watch the whole mustard scene and most of the part of Tara’s song.

    So many good things in this episode:
    – the opener…it nicely shows how a normal day for the scoobies looks like.
    – Tara’s line “Oh, my God. I’m cured!”.
    -Anya’s and Xander’s musical scene. In this episode I liked her character much more than in the previous episodes.
    – Anya patting on Giles shoulder
    -finally a cool demon
    -the look on Willows face, when Buffy reveals she was in heaven and Buffy’s distant and sad look while she sings it – it’s heartbreaking

    The bad:
    -a funeral in the night?
    -I really don’t have a problem with Tara in general but when she dances with Anya and Buffy she looks soo akward – it always distracts me how she moves.
    -It always confuses me when people sing different things at the same time
    – I really don’t like Willows dress and makeup in the magic shop at the beginning. They make her look old and mum-like. Tara’s dress looks good on her..but it seems overdressed for a normal day.

    A lot of trivia this time:
    This episode was voted #1 in TV Guide’s viewer’s poll for the 50 Top Musical Moments on Television from 1990-2002.

    Buffy comments, “So… Dawn’s in trouble… must be Tuesday.” This, of course, refers to the timeslot in which UPN broadcasts the show.

    Two of the show’s writers, David Fury and Marti Noxon, have small singing parts. Fury can be seen singing “They Got the Mustard Out” outside the magic shop when Buffy checks to see if other people are singing. Noxon sings about a parking ticket while Giles, Xander, and Anya are walking on the street.

    Joss Whedon says his biggest surprise in terms of musical ability was ‘Emma Caulfield’.

    Michelle Trachtenberg and Alyson Hannigan were reluctant to sing so Joss Whedon gave them only a few solo lines. Indeed, one of Willow’s solo lines is “I think this line is mostly filler”.

    Joss Whedon didn’t want to cut any more from the episode which ran long, and the UPN aired it in its entirety.

    On the DVD commentary for this episode, Joss Whedon says that many of the songs he wrote for this musical were conscious references to different musical theater styles and composers. For instance, Whedon characterizes “Going Through The Motions” as an “I want” song in the tradition of the opening numbers sung by heroines of Ashman-Menken Disney musicals such as “Part of Your World” from Arielle, the little mermaid and “Belle” from The beauty and the beast (albeit with what he calls a Stephen Schwartz ending). He says that “I’ll Never Tell” is his 1930s “Astaire/Rodgers” number, and he likens “Walk Through The Fire” to the four-part “Tonight Quintet” that introduces the climactic moments of the end of the first act of “West Side Story.”

    At one point, Anya says “I’ve seen some of these underworld child bride deals, and they never work out… maybe once.” This is most likely a reference to the story of Hades, the Greek God of the underworld, and Persephone, the young Goddess he kidnapped and forced to marry him. Some versions of the story depict a happy marriage, while other versions have Persephone as a prisoner, hence Anya’s confusion.

    At the end, the credit-monster sings “Grr, ah” in falsetto (sung by Joss Whedon).

    • Going Through The Motions reminded me of A Whole New World in Aladdin. Maybe it’s just because they’re on a magic carpet in the clouds and there’s a “cloud” in this scene too.

    • Also, I thought the funeral procession in the middle of the night was hilarious. It was just so ridiculous. Couldn’t help but laugh

  4. re: The Lover’s Walk discussion, there actually wasn’t consent when Willow was trying to cast the de-lusting spell. She kept on trying to hide it from Xander and he got really freaked out when he figured it out. I think the difference between that moment and the one in All The Way is the presentation. In Lover’s Walk it was portrayed as a cute-Willow-is-lying humor moment, whereas with the forgetting spell there’s (as Cordia said) something sinister to it. Plus this is a developing story and the audience is looking for evidence that she’s becoming more selfish and corrupt with power. This is one thing I actually really enjoyed when I rewatched the show – seeing earlier episodes where seeds for this S6 development were planted. It puts all those earlier actions in a different light. The episode Doppelgangland in particular I think takes on an extra layer of ironic, almost tragic humor with Willow acting as the moral compass against Anya. She says stuff like “Magic is dangerous, Anya. It’s not to be toyed with.” I wonder what 17-year-old Willow would say if she saw herself now.

    Once More, With Feeling is undoubtedly one of the best episodes of the series. I love everything about it, from the stylized credits in the beginning to Joss singing “grr argh!” at the end. This episode works so well on so many levels. First off, it’s just great entertainment. But then each song matches the characters and the actor’s abilities. The costume and set choices complement the style of each song (“I’ll Never Tell” in particular comes to mind). On top of all that it moves the plot in ways that wouldn’t have been possible if the characters weren’t all singing their feelings (the main example of course being the reveal that Buffy was in heaven). It’s actually a very bleak episode fitting for S6 but still endlessly enjoyable. And unlike the rest of S6, the humor works perfectly – “Bunnies! It must be bunnies!”, “I gave birth to a pterodactyl”/”Oh my god, did it sing?”, “She needs backup.” I could’ve picked a bunch of other examples, this episode is replete with them.

    I love all the songs and my favorites change constantly but they’re usually Going Through the Motions and Let Me Rest in Peace. Under Your Spell was a really smart way of putting some lighthearted sweetness in the episode – though bittersweet for the audience – and then turning that on its head with the great Tara/Giles reprise.

    What I love about the Buffy/Spike kiss at the end is that it’s another Whedon subversion. He wanted the curtain to close on this big romantic kiss, and maybe it is if you’re looking at it from Spike’s perspective, but it’s actually a really sad moment. You know nothing good will come of this decision when Buffy prefaces it with “This isn’t real/But I just want to feel.” It’s not romance or love, it’s just dejection and escapism. So you’re left both cheering them on and wanting to stop what can only be a trainwreck waiting to happen.

    • I like the point you make about what Buffy sings right before she kisses Spike. I didn’t actually notice that (or maybe I did, but more in the sort of way Willow noticed the lyrics to “I Touch Myself” before she really realized what the song was about).

    • I didn’t notice until listening to my soundtrack of this episode, but the final lyrics in the Scooby song go

      (All) Where do we go from here?
      When does the end appear?
      When do the trumpets cheer?
      The curtains close on a kiss, God knows
      We can tell the end is near

      So, neat little lyric about the kiss.

    • Thanks for pointing out the lack of consent from Xander in Lover’s Walk.

      • Romit – Thanks!

        Meags – Yeah, that little lyric was a nice touch.

        William – No problem! 🙂 I second your excitement about the podcast, and your comment about Sweet being the best monster of the week they’ve had on the show. Hinton Battle does an excellent job. Also, in response to your previous question, Xander summoning the demon never bothered me that much, though I do kind of roll my eyes at the whole “does this mean I have to be your queen?” thing. It’s probably one of the only moments in the episode where the humor grates because the idea of Xander summoning the demon is too silly and nonsensical.

  5. I think this is the best episode of Buffy. I’ll try to explain why.

    First of all, huge props to Joss Whedon for having the guts to NOT make this a bottle episode. It’s already a monster of the week episode, and it’s already a musical episode so I’m sure the idea of telling an entirely self contained story was immensely tempting. So I’m glad he decided not to do that.

    Often in movies I think that “style” tends to detract from “substance”. You get so wrapped up in the visual techniques, effects, crazy plot twists, etc. that you get pulled out of the emotional core of the story and then you can’t relate to it. So too much style is generally bad because the substance suffers. But on the flip side, all you really need in order to be able to tell a good story is a story with substance. All substance, no style can actually be a good thing.

    What Joss wisely does with this episode is he uses the gimmick of “the musical” (the style) to CONVEY the emotion (the substance) in the story. In doing so, the style and the substance are intimately linked and at once this episode is all style AND all substance.

    So you can say:

    “I love that Buffy finally told everyone that she was in heaven. I love that she kissed Spike. I love that Xander and Anya sang about their insecurities about marrying each other. I love that Tara found out about Willow’s spell. And I love just how emotional this whole episode and all the songs in it were”

    And I can reply with:

    “I love Buffy singing about how she wants to be alive through the ash cloud of the vampire. I love when she shows up to save her sister and takes off her jacket to reveal a red shirt that matches her lipstick and the red patterning in her jean pockets. I love the aerial shot of her when she’s walking down an unlit street and how all the instruments drop out as soon as she starts singing. And I love that shot of her face after she throws the pool cue at the dummy demon”

    And the great thing about a LOT of the things that I mentioned above and many, many more that I didn’t is that you can appreciate them on the stylistic level AND on an emotional level. The scene where Buffy is walking down the alleyway, enshrouded in darkness? Perfect symbolism for her emotional state, and MAN would I be lying if I said I didn’t feel her loneliness in that scene. Buffy revealing the red shirt? It’s the most impassioned song in the episode and red is the color of passion – and the red actually adds to the intensity of the song. Buffy singing “I just want to be alive” through the ash cloud? Heartbreaking. Ditto the look on her face after she throws the pool cue at the dummy.

    Sarah Michelle Gellar is absolutely amazing in this episode. She needs to be, and she is.

    And don’t forget about the humour. Some great laugh-out-loud moments.

    I REALLY loved this. (Now go watch Dr Horrible’s Sing Along Blog)

  6. This episode is so satisfyingly charming and funny whilst continuing to develop the story arc for many of the main characters. There are a few holes to be picked in the story line – Xander calling the demon but not mentioning it to anyone seems a bit stretched – but I feel happy to let that slide.

    There are lots of great moments – funniest line surely Giles saying that he saw the victim’s body whilst the police where taking witness arias. Giles’ song about having to let Buffy make her own way in life always makes me cry and it manages to explain how he is feeling in a very convincing way. I mean, in many ways I find it unlikely that Giles would consider stepping back from looking after Buffy when she is in such a vunerable position – somehow though I’m convinced by his song. It gives added credibility and sincerity. I’m reminded of an episode of the Simpsons when they decide to spend all the city’s money on building a monorail just because they have sung a cheery song about it.

    I like that the elaborate set up gives Buffy a chance to reveal her secret without it being in any way selfish of her – as the singing spell acts as a kind of truth drug. A very Buffy way of it happening.

    Um, I’ve never ever commented on fashion before but Tara’s dress…I don’t really understand that…..

    And Geffen I think you are so right about the subversive quality of the the kiss. It’s utterly romantic in style, and if you have a soft spot for Spike it seems a triumphant climax but of course it’s also obvious it’s not a good idea.

  7. References:
    Ex: Respect the Crawler, tame the Donut(Xander) from Magnolia “Respect the ****, tame the ****” (Tom Cruise) The shape of the pastry should give you and indication of what goes in the stars.
    In: Bunnies “Fear itself” -Anya
    In: Shumash (sp?) Tribe “Pangs” – Anya
    Ex: I take the fifth(as in Plead the 5th, Fifth Amendment) – Anya
    Ex: David Brinkly (the old Newscaster for NBC and ABC – Anya
    Ex: Yima Sumec (1950’s Purvian singer) – Spike
    Ex: Lord of the Dance – Tara
    Ex: Twist and Shout – Sweet
    Ex: Soft Shoe – Sweet
    Ex: That’s Entertainment! – Sweet
    In: Dawn Situation last ep – Giles
    Ex: “Nero His very first fiddle” – Nero Caesar rumored to have watched Rome burn whilst playing the fiddle – Sweet
    Ex: “Some day he’ll be a real boy” (Pinocchio) – Spike
    In: Dawn utters Buffy’s lines from “The Gift”
    Ex: Sing your “Kumbayayas” out – Spike
    Ex: 76 Trombones from The Musical Man – Spike

  8. David Fury is the Mustard Guy and Marti Noxon is the parking ticket lady.

  9. Anyone else really bothered with Xander being the cause in this episode? Feels like a cheap out to make him the village idiot again…

    • No… But I could see why you would. I was convinced it was Dawn and that REALLY annoyed me, so when it wasn’t her I was happy.

      But upon reflection, it’s weird that Xander says he summoned the demon because he thought it would be fun and he just wanted to make sure him and Anya would last. At the beginning of the episode after the group song doesn’t he say “Okay now that was disturbing”? Because that doesn’t really jive with him summoning the demon in the first place.

      • Yeah, Xander being the cause never made any sense to me. If he thought it would be “fun”, then he would have to have an idea of what would happen. So when they were trying to figure things out, why wouldn’t he have said, “oh hey, I bet it’s this demon thing I summoned.” And after Bewitched, Bothered & Bewildered, you would think he’d have sworn off doing anything like that again. It never made any sense to me, and I try to pretend that scene doesn’t exist to mar the rest of the episode.

      • I think it could have been solved if he just didn’t knowingly do it. Like accidental summoning. Idk anything to make him seem less moronic. Like Xander: “hey, I was cleaning that necklace!” *Everyone blankly turn to Xander* *pause* Xander: “oh…”

  10. I have a million things to say about this episode, but I’ll just focus on one here since I know the feedback will be insane. I really appreciated the way that they depict Buffy and her depression through the song lyrics, first in Going Through the Motions, and also Walk Through the Fire. We’ve already mentioned that in season 5 she was Dawn’s fiercest protector, but Buffy’s verse in Walk Through The Fire really shows how empty and numb that she feels about everything, including rescuing Dawn, and she basically says that she feels nothing either way so she might as well do the rescue. She just wants to feel something, which is obviously why she kisses Spike. I think anyone that has dealt with depression can empathize with those lyrics.

    • Totally agree.

    • Highlight of the episode = everytime Buffy sings.

  11. I didn’t squeeze this in my VM, but I really love when Xander harmonizes with Anya with “when we know home is NEAR.”

    Also Sweet is the coolest one off demon/villain they’ve ever had on the show. Sorry Luke/The Judge, you’ve been dethroned.

  12. I can’t wait till the end of the series when we can have episode Wars :P.

    The Body’s still better *cough*

  13. Btw I can’t wait til the Ep drops because y’all’s feedback is awesome!

    • Btw is their a logical reason why they are still singing after Sweet leaves?

      • …there*

      • I took the singing to be leftover from the spell, that it wasn’t fully over yet or that he enchanted them to have a finale song before he left because that’s just something he’d do.

      • Derek’s suggestion is the only way my brain stays sane lol

  14. So, I have been looking forward to this episode FOREVER. This was the first episode I ever saw of Buffy, and my absolute favorite one. I may have gone a little crazy, watched the episode, taken notes, then written a review/observations on the episode to post here. However, my obsession showed through, and I ended up with with about four and a half single-spaced pages. Since no one would really want to wade through that, I’m making a list of the main things I love/want to mention.

    – For some reason, it amuses me that Tara keeps on smelling the curse flower that Willow gave her.
    – I hate everything that Anya wears until her number with Xander. Pearls on her shirt? Tacky. The weird butterfly shirt and funky earrings in the Magic Box? Terrible.

    – “Going Through the Motions” is amazing in showing the original concept of the show — little blonde girl chases the monsters and saves the day, leaving the dashing hero the one to be rescued.
    – Buffy stakes a vamp as she sings “nothing seems to penetrate my heart” — tee hee!
    – This song reminds me of Little Shop of Horrors — written by the guys who wrote the original Disney musicals (Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast, etc.) but oh-so-much darker.

    – In the Magic Box, Giles sings a counterpart to the song. He’s working with everyone else, but doesn’t quite fit in. He has grieved for Buffy and moved on, and only joins in on singing when Buffy looks at him and they all sing about being together. Buffy seems to know there’s something going on with her (former) Watcher this scene, and is trying to figure out what’s going on, and how to include him. She needs him for stability and support.
    – Anya’s demon knowledge was kind of helpful!
    – I feel like, in the multitude of things that could stain your shirt, mustard is pretty low on the list. I can’t say for sure, as I have never spilled mustard on my shirt before.

    – Willow and Tara…oh, Tara. You’re taking center stage and being all awesome and singing, but you’re singing about how you’re only special because of Willow. Something just isn’t right, indeed.
    – Was it just me, or did the magic look particularly corny in this song?
    – Also, this is a pretty dirty/sexual allusion-heavy song. “Spread beneath my willow tree?” “You make me com-plete” as Willow’s head disappears below Tara’s waistline? They’re really taking advantage of the freedom they have with this new network.

    – Xander and Anya…I love their old-school pajamas and the retro style of the song, worrying about normal couple things. Xander is concerned about not being successful/a good provider and Anya….well, she’s concerned about her looks, mostly.
    – Anya says Xander’s eyes are beady, which totally pays off later.
    – Tight embrace. Oh Xander.
    – Also, internal references ahoy!

    – On the street, Giles once again brings up that he’s helping as much as he can, but he’s still wondering/worrying about what he’s doing in Sunnydale.
    -Witness arias!
    -The woman singing about the parking ticket is one the the major writers/producers of the show, and is totally trying to get out of a parking ticket with sex.
    – I hate Xander’s orange leather jacket.

    – Let us please pause for a moment for some of Cordia’s favorite Spike moments this episode…oh Spike.
    – I love how he realizes he’s singing, can’t stop, and hates it.
    – The camera angle on Spike as he gets to his knees gets me every time for some reason.
    – I’m pretty sure that living in Sunnydale sucks for anyone related to health care/death. Think of the poor people drawing the short straw that have to bury people at night! And it all seems so fruitless, since most of them will end up rising as vampires again.
    – Also, I love that Spike seems genuinely confused why Buffy ran away after he told her to do so.

    – Do we have a reason why Dawn is shoplifting, other than because it’s the “rebellious teenager” thing to do? I feel like she really wants to get caught, since she keeps the price tags on everything. Or is this normal behavior for shoplifters?
    – How did the evil puppet man get in? And why does their dancing remind me of the Gentleman’s minions movements?
    – This song is a really good reason to buy the soundtrack — you can hear Sweet MUCH clearer on the recording!
    – In a way, Sweet is offering Dawn what she wants — recognition and a place in the world. Just as a child-demon queen…

    – Oh Giles…he’s unsure of his place in Buffy’s life. I particularly like how this song is shot, with Giles moving at normal speed, and Buffy slow all around him during their training station. He wants to be like her parent, but knows that’s not his real role in her life.
    – I could say so much more, but I’m just so mesmerized by the awesome of Giles that I’ll just let this be.

    – I also love the puppet minion not singing.
    – And Tara’s skirt.
    – It’s interesting that Buffy is now asking for/needing help, whereas when we were first introduced to her, she very much wanted to do things on her own.

    – “Walk Through the Fire” feels very much like the song “My Eyes” from Joss Whedon’s Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog in how it’s shot.
    – The ending of this song makes me break out in goosebumps every time, without fail. I love multi-part songs
    – Also, callback to beady eyes.
    – Buffy kicking the door open is so epic.

    – Giles is the first person to realize what had happened to Buffy when she came back from the dead.
    – Willow totally looks like she’s going to run away.
    – However, Spike is the only one that could step in and save her. He’s done something similar, in cracking a joke about killing everyone so she could have some time alone. He seems to be the only one that can do Buffy needs so she can start healing.
    – The “partners” that are splintering in this episode are in opposing colors (Tara and Willow in purple and yellow, Xander and Anya in orange and blue, and Buffy and Giles in red and green.)
    – This, of course, excludes Buffy and Spike, both in red.
    – Once again, the choreography goes so well with the music in this scene/song.
    – I also enjoy how they “sort of won.”

    Two last things: 1. Spike references The Music Man. 2. The curtains close on a kiss, God knows.

    Alright, this was more like two pages…this is totally pared down…right?

    • Well I quite enjoyed it! Short comments are overrated anyways :P.

    • How do you think the music compares in Dr Horrible? I watched both this episode and Dr Horrible this week, and while I prefer this episode… I actually found myself enjoying the music in Dr Horrible a great deal more.

      That song, “My Eyes” is really good..

      • I agree with you that Dr. Horrible’s probably has the better music. I mean how do you compete with NPH?! And while personally I get more enjoyment from Dr. Horrible’s, I think it’s a good reminder that we’ve been on a 5 year journey with the Scooby gang. So we might have more invested in this episode, because we’re closer to these characters.

        But honestly they’re both fantastic and I could watch them anytime and get some real enjoyment out of them.

      • I don’t think it’s a radical opinion to say that Dr. Horrible is a better music wise than OMWF. Not only because those actors were hired specifically for a musical but because OMWF was Joss really writing a musical for the first time. They both work for what they are but Dr. Horrible is definitely better music wise.

    • I enjoyed reading this too 🙂 I agree with a lot of what you said about Giles, especially your comments about “I’ve Got A Theory” and Buffy having to convince him to join what on the surface is a rousing teamwork song but actually has apathetic, defeated undertones. Also agree that Tara singing about how she’s special because of Willow highlights what’s problematic about their relationship. And I love the whole way the crypt scene was shot in Let Me Rest in Peace – the shot of Spike on his knees was great but I also really like how they chose Buffy’s reactions. She can’t sing in response so she gets to give all these mixed expressions of annoyance, fear, confusion, and some intrigue.

      • And that first camera angle when Buffy walks in! How the camera is hanging down from the ceiling but its kind of askew, pointed vaguely in the direction of Spike and it follows him as he comes out of the hole and moves toward Buffy.

  15. OMWF is one of my favorite hours of television. It’s fun in the tone of the songs and the general atmosphere, but dark in the lyrics. I’ve known several people who claim to hate musicals, but they love this episode and Dr. Horrible. This was the first episode of Buffy I ever saw. While I was completely lost the entire time, it did make me want to see more and watch the series as a whole.

    There’s not much more can be said about this episode that hasn’t already been addressed in the other comments, so I’ll move on.

    I’ve just now caught back up with you guys (mostly), so I’ve been making notes as I’ve been listening, so these are a little jumbled from previous episodes:

    1. I think the reason that the Scoobies didn’t think to dig up Buffy’s body before they tried to bring her back to life is because neither Angel nor Joyce needed that.

    2. Cordia brought up Xander’s commitment issues with marriage and related it to her own relationship with her boyfriend. The difference is that Cordia and her boyfriend seem to be on the same page when it comes to marriage and have (presumably) communicated this. Xander proposed to Anya and promised to marry her. Instead of discussing his fears with her, he just makes excuses. It bugs me that they don’t really address as a couple the fears that they both express during their song. In some musicals, people don’t hear others’ songs, but they obviously do here since they argue about the more petty things they sang, like beady eyes and hairy toes.

    3. It’s kind of strange that they make a joke out of Anya’s idea of charging people for saving them. That’s exactly what they do on Angel, and it isn’t presented as a bad thing or as a joke.

    4. When Spike is seeing Buffy for the first time after she’s come back in season 6, you pointed out how she buttons her shirt more and fiddles with her sleeves. That part always reminded me of how she pulled down Joyce’s skirt in the Body.

    5. I’d have liked to see the Buffy/Angel reunion. The only reason they couldn’t show it is because the WB didn’t want any cross-promotion for a different network. Maybe they wanted to convince people that Buffy ended after season 5?

    6. Andrew from the trio ruined the school play. I wonder if the Scoobies weren’t there because of their…interesting… interpretation of Oedipus Rex from the school talent show. I would probably stay away from theater after that, too.

    7. As much as it pains me to make this comparison, Dawn reminds me a bit of Bella from Twilight. They both whine about having such a hard life, but we don’t really see what makes them think their lives are so much more difficult than everyone else’s. We see and understand why Buffy is depressed, but Dawn just comes off as whiny. (Seriously, I feel dirty comparing Twilight to Buffy in any way.)

    • One funny anecdote about OMWF: Last summer, an independent movie was touring the country, and the director and writer had a Q&A before it started. They had done Repo: The Genetic Opera, in which Anthony Stewart Head starred and sang. Someone in the audience mentioned “the musical episode of Buffy” and the rest of the auditorium, including the filmmakers, belted out “Once More With Feeling!” It was pretty funny.

  16. One last thing for anyone that might be interested.. Joss Whedon and Sarah Michelle Gellar both have shows coming out this fall. Sarah’s is a CBS comedy co-starring her and Robin Williams. Joss’ show is called “Marvel’s Agents of SHIELD” and it revolves around Agent Phil Coulson from “The Avengers”.

    They were both green-lit just a couple days ago. Cautiously optimistic for both!

  17. I love this episode. I have watched it many times since I started watching the series earlier this year. The music is fantastic, and there are some pretty talented singers amongst the Buffy cast.

    I really loved how the music in the episode, while serving its purpose as part of a “musical episode,” also had the ability to delve into major plot stuff. The most significant example of this is “Something to Sing About” in which Buffy is forced to reveal to her friends that she was pulled out of heaven. The knowledge gained from the song will carry on. Just seeing Willow’s reaction can tell you that much.

    Another thing I liked in terms of the music was the duality present in “Under Your Spell.” The song conveys both figurative and very literal meaning. In one sense, Tara is in love with Willow, and is caught up in the magic of love and such, but at the same time, she is literally still under the “forget” spell that Willow cast last episode. It makes for a really interesting dynamic. Another piece of duality that was more lighthearted was Giles sending Tara and Anya to be Buffy’s back up (i.e. help Buffy defeat Sweet), and then they literally end up being her back-up singers and dancers. It cracks me up every time.

    Of all the demons on Buffy, Sweet is one of my favorites. The make-up for him was so sleek and seemless, and he looks awesome, while at the same time being believably threatening as he sings to Dawn.

    Giles and Tara singing together at the end was beautiful. Not only are they both fantastic singers, but their characters are in such a similar place, and it makes sense for them to duet that song. This is probably the first time that Giles and Tara really have any connection as characters.

    In response some of the comments regarding wardrobe, I believe there was supposed to be a theme to the outfits. Willow and Tara were supposed to be medieval and Xander and Anya were 50’s retro. Joss talks about it a little bit on the DVD commentary.

    Fun facts I learned from DVD commentary:
    -Joss’s favorite part was getting the fire trucks to correlate with the “let it burn” in Walk Through the Fire
    -The three monsters from “Going Through The Motions” are played by the same three guys who are the broom dancers during Giles, Xander and Anya’s walk down the street, and the same guys who play Sweet’s puppet headed minions.
    -The two dancers also featured in the walk are the episode’s lead and assistant choreographers.

    I could say more about this episode, but I’ll leave it at this for now. Once again, it is a fantastic episode, and I love watching it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

