Posted by: thebuffyrewatch | December 24, 2013

Cordia’s Review – S7, E08 – Sleeper

Sleeper
Season 7, Episode 8
Original airing: 11/19/2002

My Rating: 53

The Good: I enjoyed the Buffy and Spike portion of this episode. Their scenes together were heartfelt and quite emotionally charged.

The first part of the episode wasn’t too bad. I was pleased with all the honesty and openness flying around amongst our Scoobies. Almost everyone shared what they had experienced and they all talked about it. And I was ok with the idea of Dawn not sharing everything about Joyce’s message, but I felt the show hit the nail too squarely on the head with her evasiveness. It was overdone.

I also liked Spike and Anya’s scene. It was funny and the shock factor got me when Spike grabbed Anya’s arm.

The Bad: Overall, I found myself disappointed in this episode. The majority of it is from the concept of Spike being brainwashed by the Big Bad. There’s no indication this is a spell and if we’re supposed to believe it’s psychological conditioning, than it’s pretty darn impressive. Too trigger Spike’s memory and violence with a song is a little too farfetched for me. I actually would have believed it more if it was presented as a spell.

But the most egregious part of the episode was Buffy’s decision to bring Spike into her home with Willow and Dawn to attempt to get close to the Big Bad. She’s just seen that Spike has literally no control over his violence and she’s going to make excuses to house him? I couldn’t get behind that notion. She also treats him like a hurricane victim and a child as she talks about him while he’s in the room. It felt silly.

Favorite Moment: I appreciate that no matter what the show is sticking to the idea of Spike in love with Buffy. Everything he does, he does for her. He makes that very clear during their conversation in his bedroom.

The Bottom Line: This episode felt like it was intended to maneuver Spike and Buffy closer together. I’m fine with the concept, but the execution was full of holes and left me shaking my head.

Leave a Reply

Categories

